Kuwait 15-Year Investor Residency: Reported Conditions

Kuwait 15-year residency for investors allows eligible foreign investors in companies licensed by the Kuwait Direct Investment Promotion Authority (KDIPA) to hold residency for up to 15 years. KDIPA announced the framework on 14 June 2026, and EY reports that it also covers senior executives of licensed companies. The conditions are significant, so this is a route for established investors rather than a general visa.

In this explainer

What KDIPA announced

According to KDIPA, the Council of Ministers issued a resolution under Article 13 of Law No. 114 of 2024 on the Residency of Foreigners, covering foreign investors licensed under Law No. 116 of 2013 on the Promotion of Direct Investment. It allows eligible licensed investors to secure residency for up to 15 years. EY gives the resolution number as 651 of 2026, issued in coordination with the Ministry of Interior, while the KDIPA page’s own rendering of the number is unclear. Khaleej Times also reported the announcement as residency of up to 15 years for qualified foreign investors, immediate family, accredited senior executives and approved partners.

Reported conditions

KDIPA lists several conditions. The investment value must be no less than KWD 5 million, capital for approved investment activities no less than KWD 1 million, operations in Kuwait must be active, and the entity must meet a minimum employment requirement for Kuwaiti nationals. KDIPA does not give the required number of Kuwaiti employees, and its page does not describe application steps, documents or fees.

Who is covered

KDIPA names owners of licensed investment entities, partners, KDIPA-approved senior executives and eligible immediate family members, subject to prescribed conditions. It does not state how long executive or family permits last. EY says the residency is for investors and senior executives, and notes only that it covers granting and renewal across defined categories.

Consider a hypothetical case. Minh is a Vietnamese manufacturer who is weighing a KDIPA-licensed plant in Kuwait. Under the reported rules, his company would first need a KDIPA licence, meet the capital and investment thresholds, and show Kuwaiti employment. Only after that could he or approved executives seek the long-term residency. A residency-first plan would not work, because the permit is tied to the licensed company.

What is not yet clear

EY says an effective date is not stated on the page we read, and its full tax alert was not available to us. KDIPA does not set out fees, documents or timelines. Anyone planning around this should ask KDIPA and Kuwaiti immigration authorities for the current process rather than relying on summaries, including ours.

How it compares in the Gulf

Kuwait joins other Gulf states offering longer residency for investors and executives. Our guides cover Qatar’s 10-year residency for founders and executives and Dubai’s golden visa figures, and our note on Oman free-zone rules for foreign investors. Each programme has different thresholds and conditions, so compare them on the capital you can commit and the staff you plan to hire. If you are choosing a jurisdiction for a new company, our company formation page sets out options.

Kuwait residency questions

How long is Kuwait’s investor residency?

KDIPA says up to 15 years for eligible licensed investors.

When was it announced?

KDIPA announced the framework on 14 June 2026.

What are the investment thresholds?

KDIPA lists an investment value of no less than KWD 5 million and capital of no less than KWD 1 million for approved activities.

Are executives covered?

EY says senior executives in KDIPA-licensed companies are covered, and KDIPA names approved senior executives. Their permit length is not stated.

Do I need Kuwaiti employees?

KDIPA lists a minimum employment requirement for Kuwaiti nationals, but does not give the number.

What are the fees and steps?

They are not described on the KDIPA page we read. Ask KDIPA or the Ministry of Interior.

Sources

Qatar 10-Year Residency for Founders and Executives

Qatar has announced a renewable Qatar 10-year residency for two groups: entrepreneurs endorsed by an approved incubator, and senior executives working for qualifying employers. It is not an investor visa and it is not open to general professionals, freelancers or retirees, according to Gulf News. The programme was announced earlier this year, and sources disagree on whether it is fully open, so founders should check the current position with Qatari authorities before planning around it.

Inside this guide

The entrepreneur route

Gulf News says entrepreneurs must run high-impact or innovation-driven businesses and hold an endorsement from a recognised incubator, with Qatar Science and Technology Park given as an example. Vialto Partners lists the approved incubators as QFTH, QBIC, QSTP, Scale 7 or QDB, and a minimum bank balance of QAR 36,500 held over the last three months, plus a business model or investment plan. Deloitte Middle East says both local and overseas entrepreneurs may apply, though it gives no balance figure. Consider a hypothetical case. Camila is a Brazilian founder with a logistics start-up. Her first task is to win incubator endorsement, since the bank balance alone does not qualify her.

The executive route

For executives, Gulf News and Vialto agree on the core test: chairman, CEO, CFO, COO, CTO or executive director titles, at least five years of senior management experience, and a valid employment contract. Monthly pay must be at least QAR 50,000 for C-suite roles and QAR 80,000 for executive directors. The employer must be a listed company, a licensed bank or financial institution, a regulated insurer, or a consultancy serving government entities. Vialto and Deloitte add that executives need valid Qatari residency and employer nomination, so this is an upgrade path for people already in the country rather than an entry visa.

Family and status

Vialto says the permit allows sponsorship of spouses, children and parents, and Deloitte says dependents can be sponsored. Gulf News does not address family. The sources also differ on timing. Gulf News describes a rollout phase with no launch date, while Vialto and Deloitte describe the programme as introduced, and none cites a government notice with an effective date. Vialto notes it is not yet clear whether a separate work authorisation is needed. Whether existing five-year residents can upgrade is unconfirmed.

How it differs from other Gulf options

Qatar’s route is built around endorsed founders and senior staff, not property or capital deposits. Other Gulf states take different approaches, as set out in our guides to UAE company law changes, Saudi company registration and Oman free zone rules. If you are weighing where to set up, our company formation service page explains the options, and you can check wider routes with our visa eligibility checker.

Preparing an application

Gulf News says applications run through government platforms, naming the Ministry of Interior’s Hukoomi portal, Start from Qatar and Jusoor, while Deloitte points to the Jusour residency programme site. Expect to assemble credentials, contracts or a business plan, bank statements and attested documents. Because the sources are consultancy and press summaries from February and March 2026 rather than an official notice, treat the thresholds as indicative and confirm them with Invest Qatar or the Ministry of Interior. Legal and tax advice is specific to your situation, so speak to a qualified adviser.

Qatar residency questions

Who qualifies for Qatar’s 10-year residency?

Entrepreneurs endorsed by an approved incubator and senior executives at qualifying employers, according to Gulf News and Vialto Partners.

Is it an investor visa?

No. Gulf News says investors are not covered by this programme.

What bank balance do entrepreneurs need?

Gulf News and Vialto both report a minimum of QAR 36,500 maintained over the previous three months.

What salary do executives need?

QAR 50,000 a month for C-suite roles and QAR 80,000 for executive directors, according to Gulf News and Vialto.

Can my family come with me?

Vialto says spouses, children and parents can be sponsored, and Deloitte says dependents can. Gulf News does not address family.

Is the programme open now?

Sources differ. Gulf News describes a rollout phase with no launch date, while consultancies say it has been introduced. Confirm with Qatari authorities.

Sources

The UK Just Tightened Settlement Rules for Hong Kong BN(O) Visa Holders

New UK Hong Kong BNO visa rules took effect on October 8. They tighten the path to settlement for most people on the British National (Overseas) route. Under the Statement of Changes to the Immigration Rules, HC 584, most BN(O) visa holders now need five full years of continuous residence in the UK. That’s required before they can apply to settle permanently. It’s part of a wider package of changes the Home Office published, covering several visa categories at once.

The five-year requirement does not apply to applicants under the age of 18. They continue under different settlement provisions. For everyone else on the route, the change effectively standardizes BN(O) settlement timing. It now matches the continuous-residence approach used elsewhere in the UK’s immigration system.

What Else Changed Under the Same Package of Rules

HC 584 bundled the BN(O) update together with changes to several other routes. All took effect the same day. Skilled Workers who receive a positive Conclusive Grounds decision under the UK’s modern slavery identification framework may now qualify for broader work permissions, subject to eligibility requirements. Visitor visa rules were expanded too. They now cover attending workshops and debates, taking part in skills competitions, and allowing entertainment staff to support artists, musicians and performers during certain engagements. A related set of provisions for Erasmus+ exchange participants also took effect under the same statement of changes. Those cover training placements, traineeships, job shadowing and coaching assignments. Tamara News covered those specific rules in detail separately.

UK Hong Kong BNO visa rules illustration

Domestic Abuse and EU Settlement Scheme Provisions

The changes also expand eligibility under the Victim of Domestic Abuse route. They clarify coverage for certain children and for individuals who hold status under the EU Settlement Scheme (EUSS). They also address eligibility for applicants who were abandoned overseas by an abuser. On the EUSS itself, HC 584 makes technical amendments. These cover derivative rights of residence, how joining family members are treated, and application timing requirements. A separate suitability provision gives the Home Office new power. It can now refuse an application where an applicant has acted to frustrate immigration controls.

Why the New UK Hong Kong BNO Visa Rules Matter Most

Of everything in HC 584, the five-year settlement requirement is likely to have the broadest practical impact. That’s given the scale of the BN(O) route since its 2021 launch, as a response to the national security law imposed on Hong Kong. Applicants were previously uncertain about exactly when continuous residence would be assessed. Now they have a clearer, more conventional standard to plan around. It also means some applicants face a longer, more rigidly defined wait than they may have anticipated when they first applied.

What BN(O) Holders and Other Affected Applicants Should Do Now

Anyone currently on the BN(O) route should check how their continuous residence is being calculated against the new five-year standard. The same goes for anyone affected by the visitor, Skilled Worker, EUSS or Victim of Domestic Abuse changes. Applicants should also confirm which version of the rules applies to applications already in progress. For related coverage of how UK immigration policy has shifted across other routes this autumn, see Tamara News’ reporting on the Erasmus+ visa rules that took effect the same day, the UK’s ETA enforcement rules for visa-exempt travelers, and the upcoming shrinking of the Graduate Route to 18 months.

Common Questions About the HC 584 Changes

When did the new UK Hong Kong BNO visa rules take effect?
October 8, 2026, under Statement of Changes to the Immigration Rules HC 584.

How long do BN(O) visa holders now need to live in the UK before settling?
Most applicants need five years of continuous residence, with an exception for those under 18.

What other visa routes were affected by HC 584?
Skilled Worker modern slavery provisions, visitor visas, Erasmus+ participants, the EU Settlement Scheme, and the Victim of Domestic Abuse route.

Does the five-year rule apply to children on the BN(O) route?
No. Applicants under 18 are exempt from the five-year continuous residence requirement.

Can the Home Office now refuse applications on broader grounds?
Yes. HC 584 added a suitability provision allowing refusal where an applicant has acted to frustrate immigration controls.

Sources

Portugal Citizenship Now Takes 10 Years – What Movers Should Know

The five-year path to a Portuguese passport is gone. Under Portugal’s reform, Portugal citizenship residency now runs to ten years for most applicants, double the old clock. It is one of the biggest shifts in Europe’s residency map this year, and it changes the maths for anyone eyeing Lisbon or Porto as a long-term base. Some nationals still get a shorter track. Most do not. If your plan assumed a quick passport, it needs a rethink today.

By the Travel Explore editorial desk. Last updated 8 July 2026.

What the Portugal citizenship residency reform changes

The core change is simple and steep. The qualifying residency period for citizenship moves from five years to ten for most foreign applicants. The reform also tightened the entry routes that feed residency. The job-seeker visa is now limited to highly qualified applicants, and if you do not start employment within a 120-day window you must leave Portugal and can only reapply after a year. Family reunification is now conditional on two years of legal residence. Take Mateus, a Brazilian founder who moved to Lisbon expecting a passport by 2029. His timeline shifts, though as we will see his nationality softens the blow.

Wondering if a European base still fits your plan? Compare your options at linktr.ee/travelexpore.

Who still qualifies faster

Not everyone waits a decade. Citizens of EU countries and of Portuguese-speaking nations, including Brazil, Angola, Mozambique and Cape Verde, move from five years to seven rather than ten. That gap is significant. For Mateus, the Brazilian founder, it means a seven-year route instead of ten, so his residency years still build toward something. The lesson is that your passport of origin now shapes your Portuguese timeline as much as your visa type does. Anyone from a lusophone country should factor that shorter clock into the decision. Everyone else should plan around the full ten years and treat residency, not citizenship, as the near-term prize.

How to protect your timeline now

Start the clock cleanly. Keep every residency renewal on time, because gaps can reset your count. Hold documents that prove continuous legal residence, since the two-year family rule and the citizenship count both hinge on it. If you rely on the job-seeker route, line up qualified work before the 120-day limit bites. And decide what you actually need: many goals, from working to schooling children, are met by residency alone. Test which Portuguese or wider European route fits your profile with our free visa eligibility checker before you bank on any single passport timeline.

In a nutshell

  • Citizenship residency period rises from five to ten years for most.
  • EU and Portuguese-speaking nationals move to seven, not ten.
  • Job-seeker visa is now highly qualified only, with a 120-day work window.
  • Family reunification needs two years of legal residence.

Your questions

How long is Portugal citizenship residency now?
Ten years for most applicants, up from the previous five-year requirement.

Do Brazilians still get a shorter route?
Yes. Citizens of Portuguese-speaking nations qualify after seven years rather than ten.

Did the job-seeker visa change?
Yes. It is now limited to highly qualified applicants, who must start work within 120 days.

Is residency still worth it?
For most goals, yes. Residency delivers the right to live and work well before citizenship.

Related reads

Share this

  • LinkedIn: Portugal doubled its citizenship clock to ten years. Here is who still gets a faster route.
  • Twitter: Portuguese passport in 5 years? Not anymore. It is 10 for most, 7 for lusophone nationals.
  • Facebook: Dreaming of Portugal? The path to citizenship just got longer. Read who is affected.

Reset your Portugal plan around the real clock

A longer citizenship route is not a closed door. Residency still buys the life, and the passport still comes for those who plan the full timeline. Get your Portugal strategy right from the first year at https://wa.link/i9l1ec.

Sources

  • Fragomen, Portugal significant immigration reforms in effect (T1 specialist)
  • Global Citizen Solutions, Portugal immigration and nationality reform analysis (T2 supporting)




Tapay copy tradingGrow your money while you plan your moveTapay auto-copies a live trading strategy to your own account — spot & futures. Start free on demo, go live when you’re ready.Start free →

New Zealand Just Made Its Investor Visa Easier to Win

A founder sells her stake, banks the proceeds, and starts hunting for a country that will trade residence for capital. New Zealand just climbed her shortlist. From June 1, 2026, the New Zealand Active Investor Plus visa lets investors steer part of their money into approved charitable projects, and a separate rule now lets qualifying holders buy a home. For globally mobile investors, the country quietly became more flexible and more livable.

By the Travel Explore editorial desk. Last updated 29 June 2026.

New Zealand Active Investor Plus visa view over Auckland harbour

What this covers

The two investment categories

The visa runs on two tracks. The Growth category asks for NZD 5 million placed in higher-risk direct or managed investments over three years. The Balanced category sets a higher bar, around NZD 10 million over five years, but accepts safer asset classes such as bonds and listed equities. Both lead to residence, and both reward you for keeping the money working inside New Zealand.

The trade-off is simple. More risk and a shorter horizon, or more capital and more time. Your tax position and appetite decide which fits.

What actually changed in 2026

Two updates matter. First, from June 1 Growth-category applicants can direct up to 20 percent of their funds into approved philanthropic investments, while Balanced applicants can allocate any share, provided the investment still meets the rules. Immigration New Zealand frames it as enabling “philanthropy in the Growth category.”

Second, since February overseas-based holders of the resident visa may purchase or build one residential property worth at least NZD 5 million. That lifts a long-standing block on foreign buyers, but only for this group and only above that price.

Who the New Zealand Active Investor Plus visa suits

Take Wei, a technology investor from Shenzhen who already runs a fund and wants a stable second base. The Growth track lets him deploy NZD 5 million, count a slice as philanthropy, and still clear the residence threshold in three years. The new property rule means his family can actually settle, not just hold a visa.

It is not for everyone. The sums are large, the funds must stay invested, and returns are not guaranteed. Salaried professionals are almost always better served by skilled-migrant routes. This visa is built for people with serious, liquid capital and a long view.

Weighing a residence-by-investment move and want the numbers checked against your assets? Talk it through at https://wa.link/i9l1ec.

The bottom line

  • Growth needs NZD 5m over 3 years; Balanced about NZD 10m over 5.
  • Up to 20 percent of Growth funds can now go to philanthropy.
  • Qualifying holders can buy one home worth NZD 5m or more.
  • This route suits liquid investors, not salaried applicants.

Investor questions, answered

How much do I need to invest?

NZD 5 million over three years for Growth, or roughly NZD 10 million over five years for the lower-risk Balanced category.

Does the philanthropy portion count toward my total?

Yes, within the rules. Growth applicants can allocate up to 20 percent, and Balanced applicants any proportion, provided the investment qualifies.

Can I buy a house on this visa?

Overseas-based resident-visa holders can buy or build one residential property valued at NZD 5 million or above.

Is this a citizenship-by-investment scheme?

No. It grants residence first; citizenship later follows New Zealand the usual residency and presence requirements.

Keep reading

Share this story

  • LinkedIn: New Zealand just made its investor visa more flexible, with philanthropy options and a property opening.
  • Twitter: NZ Active Investor Plus visa now allows philanthropy in the Growth category and a NZD 5m home purchase.
  • Facebook: Thinking of residency by investment? New Zealand just changed the rules in investors favour.

Put your capital where it counts

Residence by investment rewards careful structuring, not guesswork. Map your funds to the right category and the new philanthropy and property rules with help at https://wa.link/i9l1ec.

Sources

Tapay copy tradingGrow your money while you plan your moveTapay auto-copies a live trading strategy to your own account — spot & futures. Start free on demo, go live when you’re ready.Start free →

Trading involves risk. Only trade what you can afford to lose.

1 2 3 … 5