Europe’s New Travel Permit Was Supposed to Start by Now — Here’s Why It Hasn’t

Travelers hoping to understand Europe’s new entry rules got a clearer, if frustrating, answer this year. The ETIAS launch delay 2027 is now the European Union’s own expectation. It is not just rumor anymore. The European Travel Information and Authorisation System is a pre-travel screening step for visa-free visitors. The EU pushed it back indefinitely in August 2026.

Euronews covered the delay in detail. The EU had previously targeted a 2027 start. That date is now uncertain too. On its own website, the EU states plainly: “ETIAS is currently not in operation and no applications for travel authorizations are collected at this point.” The EU has promised to announce a firm start date several months before the system actually goes live.

Why the ETIAS launch delay 2027 happened

The delay traces back to a separate system called the Entry/Exit System, or EES. EES ran into technical trouble. EES began registering non-EU travelers at Schengen borders in April 2026. It collects facial images and fingerprints on first entry. The rollout did not go smoothly everywhere. Some airports, including locations in Milan, fingerprinted travelers again even after they had already registered once. Long queues and missed flights followed during the busy summer travel season. Officials want EES running reliably first. ETIAS depends on the same border infrastructure, so adding it on top of a shaky system risked compounding the problem.

ETIAS officials planned to present a revised timeline in the weeks after the August announcement. Some early rumors suggested a late-2026 launch was still possible. Most reporting treats a 2027 start as more realistic. Even that date carries real uncertainty. This system has slipped several times already.

What travelers need to do right now

Nothing, for the moment. ETIAS stays optional until the system actually launches, and no one can submit an application yet. Travelers from visa-exempt countries can keep visiting the Schengen area under the current rules. That includes the United States, United Kingdom, Canada and Australia. The EU has specifically warned travelers not to pay anyone who claims to offer ETIAS applications ahead of the real launch. Early scam sites have already tried to charge for a service that does not yet exist.

When ETIAS does launch, the plan calls for a cost of €20 per application. The EU expects to exempt children under 18 and adults over 70 from that fee. It also expects some family members of EU citizens to qualify for an exemption. The EU expects an approved authorization to last three years, or until the holder’s passport expires. It would cover stays of up to 90 days in any 180-day period.

How this fits into Europe’s bigger border overhaul

EES and ETIAS are two halves of the same plan. One tracks entries and exits digitally. The other screens visa-free travelers before they arrive, rather than only at the border. The EES side is already live, even with rough patches at some airports. The ETIAS side keeps slipping. That mismatch leaves travelers with biometric registration duties now. They still lack the pre-travel screening step the EU originally wanted to pair with it. The European Commission’s own ETIAS page still describes the system as “not in operation,” confirming the delay is not just press speculation. Readers tracking shifting entry rules elsewhere can also see how Thailand recently cut its visa exemption period and how India adjusted its own e-visa rules this same month. Neither of those changes took anywhere near the years of delay Europe has faced with ETIAS.

What comes before ETIAS finally launches

Expect three things before a real start date arrives. First, EES needs a stretch of smooth operation at major airports, not just improvement at a few locations. Second, the EU must formally lock in the €20 fee. That fee was still in a review period as of the most recent reporting. Third, the EU has committed to a public announcement several months ahead of launch. That should give airlines and travelers real lead time once it finally comes. None of those three steps has a confirmed date yet. Travelers should treat any site offering ETIAS applications today as premature at best.

Schengen area border sign relevant to the ETIAS launch delay 2027

FAQ: ETIAS launch delay 2027

Do I need ETIAS to visit Europe right now?
No. ETIAS is not in operation, and nobody can submit an application as of this writing.

When will ETIAS actually launch?
The EU has not set a firm date. Most reporting treats 2027 as more likely than 2026, though the EU has delayed this system multiple times already.

How much will ETIAS cost when it launches?
The planned fee is €20, with expected exemptions for children under 18, adults over 70, and some family members of EU citizens.

Is the ETIAS launch delay 2027 related to EES?
Yes. Officials cited technical trouble with the Entry/Exit System, which already requires biometric registration at Schengen borders, as a key reason for holding back ETIAS.

Which travelers will need ETIAS?
Visa-exempt visitors to the Schengen area, plus Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Switzerland, including travelers from the US, UK, Canada and Australia.

Should I pay a website for help applying for ETIAS now?
No. The EU has warned against paying anyone for ETIAS applications before the official system is live, since the real application process has not opened yet.

Does the ETIAS launch delay 2027 affect EES registration at the border?
No. EES registration continues separately at Schengen borders regardless of when ETIAS launches. The two systems are related but run on different timelines.

Good News for Most Visa Applicants in November — Unless You’re From India or China

The State Department’s November 2026 visa bulletin advances several employment-based green card dates for most of the world. Applicants from India and China, though, face yet another month with almost no movement in their categories.

What Changed in the November 2026 Visa Bulletin

The new dates are based on visa demand reported through October 5, 2026, according to Newsweek. For most countries, Mexico and the Philippines, EB-1 remains current. EB-2’s final action date advances three months to April 1, 2025. EB-3 advances one month to June 15, 2024. EB-3 Other Workers jumps five months to June 1, 2022, for the same group of countries. That is the single largest move in this month’s bulletin.

November 2026 visa bulletin passport with visa stamp

Why India and China Barely Moved

India’s EB-2 final action date stays frozen at November 1, 2013. China’s EB-2 holds at October 1, 2021. China’s EB-1 advances a single month, to August 1, 2023, while India’s EB-1 stays put at February 1, 2023. Both countries’ EB-3 Other Worker categories edge forward by just 14 days, to January 22, 2014, according to Erickson Immigration Group. China’s EB-3 moves separately to January 22, 2022. EB-4 holds at December 15, 2022 across the board. EB-5’s unreserved category stays current for most countries, with China fixed at December 1, 2016 and India at December 1, 2023.

What This Means for H-1B Workers Waiting on Green Cards

Douglas S. Pierce, a former USCIS supervisor who retired in late 2025, told Newsweek the lack of movement is especially significant for Indian and Chinese H-1B workers. “The biggest things that stand out are the lack of movement forward on India employment preference categories,” Pierce said. He added that H-1B workers from both countries are being “profoundly impacted by the lack of movement on these numbers.” Pierce linked the bulletin’s limited progress to other changes this year, including higher H-1B filing fees and changes to the PERM labor certification program and H-4 work authorization.

Filing Dates and What USCIS Will Accept

Separate from the final action dates, the bulletin’s Dates for Filing chart sets a later, more generous cut-off. That date determines when applicants can submit paperwork. For November 2026, the EB-2 filing date sits at March 15, 2026 for most countries, including Mexico and the Philippines. For India, it’s January 15, 2015. USCIS has confirmed it will accept adjustment-of-status applications using the Dates for Filing chart for November. That gives many applicants a few extra months to file before their final action date actually arrives.

How Priority Dates and the Visa Bulletin Fit Together

The visa bulletin’s dates matter because of how the US caps green cards each year. Congress sets an annual limit for each employment-based category. Demand from countries like India and China regularly exceeds that limit, since both countries have large numbers of pending petitions. When demand outstrips supply, the State Department sets a cut-off date. Only applicants whose priority date falls before that cut-off can move forward that month. A priority date is simply the date an employer first filed a petition on the worker’s behalf. India and China send far more petitions than the per-country limits were built to handle. That is why workers from those two countries tend to wait years longer than applicants from almost anywhere else. The imbalance is structural, not the result of any single policy change. It’s the main reason the same two countries land at the back of the queue nearly every month. That is also why India and China are listed as separate columns rather than folded into the “all other countries” category used for most of the world on the same chart. Most other countries move through their categories far faster as a result, since they share a single, much larger pool of available visa numbers each year.

The Caveat Every Applicant Should Know

The State Department routinely warns that cut-off dates can move backward. That happens if demand in a category exceeds the visas available for the rest of the fiscal year. Categories can also become temporarily unavailable altogether. Reaching your priority date on the bulletin isn’t the same as approval. It only means your case becomes eligible for the next stage of processing, which can still take months depending on USCIS workload.

Related Coverage on Tamara News

For more on the policy backdrop shaping these numbers, see our coverage of the DHS proposal to end deference on work visa extensions, the PERM suspension affecting major employers, and the $750 expedited visa interview pilot program.

November 2026 Visa Bulletin: Reader Questions

What is the November 2026 visa bulletin?
The State Department’s monthly update on employment and family-based green card cut-off dates, released in late October 2026 based on demand through October 5.

Did India’s EB-2 category move this month?
No. India’s EB-2 final action date remains at November 1, 2013.

Which category saw the biggest advance?
EB-3 Other Workers for most countries and Mexico, which advanced five months to June 1, 2022.

Can applicants file paperwork before their final action date arrives?
Yes, if their priority date is earlier than the Dates for Filing chart’s cut-off, which USCIS has confirmed it will accept for November 2026.

Why are H-1B workers particularly affected by this bulletin?
Former USCIS supervisor Douglas Pierce says the lack of movement in India’s categories compounds other recent changes, including higher H-1B fees and PERM program restrictions.

Can a visa bulletin cut-off date move backward?
Yes. The State Department can retrogress a date if demand exceeds the visas available for the rest of the fiscal year.

Australia Holds 2027 International Student Level at 295,000

Australia has confirmed its 2027 National Planning Level for international students at 295,000 new commencements, the same figure as 2026, according to an announcement published by Study Australia on 15 July 2026. The government says no active education provider will receive a lower allocation in 2027 than in 2026. The level is a planning tool and not a legal cap, but it still shapes how quickly student visas are processed, so it matters to anyone planning a 2027 intake.

In this report

What was announced

The figure is 295,000 new overseas student commencements (NOSCs), unchanged from 2026. The Study Australia page, which republishes the settings from the Department of Education’s announcement on the managed system for international education, says provider allocations will not fall for any active provider. We read the Study Australia page, not the department’s own page, so check the department site for the wording of record.

The government stresses that the level is “not a cap or a limit on student numbers”. It is the number used to plan the size of the international education program, and each provider is given an allocation within it.

How the 80% rule affects visa processing

The practical effect comes through processing priority. According to the announcement, student visa applications are Priority 1 until the chosen provider reaches 80% of its commencement allocation. After that point, applications are still accepted but are processed more slowly. Genuine students who meet student visa requirements can still apply and be granted a visa.

That means timing and choice of provider both matter. An application to a provider that has used most of its allocation can take longer than one to a provider with room left, even when the applicant is equally well qualified.

What it means for applicants

Consider a hypothetical example. Priya is an Indian student planning a master’s course starting in 2027. If she applies early to a provider that is still under 80% of its allocation, her visa application sits in the fastest queue. If she waits until late in the intake cycle, the same application could be processed more slowly. Nothing in the announcement says she would be refused for that reason.

The planning level also sits alongside other Australian changes we have covered, including the student visa changes from 2 October 2026, the 25 percent rise in visa application charges and the Ministerial Direction 123 character-test changes. If you are comparing destinations, our visa eligibility checker can help you check the route before you pay a deposit.

What the announcement does not say

The page we read does not give a sector breakdown of the 295,000 figure, does not change visa fees, and does not list allocation or application dates for 2027. Those details may appear elsewhere, but we have not seen them and do not report them. Treat any third-party claim about sector splits as unverified until the department publishes it.

What happens next

Providers will use their 2027 allocations as they manage offers and enrolments. Applicants should ask their chosen provider how much of its allocation is committed, apply early, and keep an eye on official departmental updates. Tamara News will update this story if the government changes the level or the processing rules.

Questions on the 2027 planning level

What is the 2027 National Planning Level?

295,000 new overseas student commencements, unchanged from 2026, according to the announcement published on Study Australia on 15 July 2026.

Is it a cap on student numbers?

No. The announcement says it is not a cap or a limit on student numbers. It is a planning level for managing the size of the program.

Will any provider get less than in 2026?

The announcement says no active provider will receive a lower allocation in 2027 than in 2026.

What is the 80% rule?

Student visa applications are Priority 1 until the chosen provider reaches 80% of its commencement allocation. After that they are still accepted but processed more slowly.

Can I still get a visa if my provider is near its allocation?

The announcement says genuine students who meet student visa requirements can still apply and be granted a visa.

Does the announcement change visa fees?

The page we read does not mention any fee change.

Sources

Fewer New Arrivals, More People With Work Permits: Canada’s Confusing New Numbers

New data from Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada shows a sharp divide in what is happening to Canada’s temporary resident population. New arrivals have plunged. At the same time, the total number of people holding a work permit keeps climbing. The Canada temporary resident arrivals figures, published October 20, 2026, show combined new worker and student arrivals down 63% for the first eight months of the year.

What the Canada temporary resident arrivals data actually shows

According to figures reported by Immigration.ca, new worker arrivals from January through August 2026 totaled 130,095. That is down 57% from the same period in 2024. New international student arrivals fell even further, down 71%, to 65,240. Combined, the two categories totaled 195,335 new arrivals this year. That is a drop of 326,900 people compared with the same eight months two years earlier, a 63% decline.

Border crossing checkpoint booths tied to the latest Canada temporary resident arrivals data

Those numbers describe only the flow of brand-new arrivals. They say nothing about how many people are currently in Canada on a temporary permit. That second figure is moving in a very different direction.

The scale of the eight-month drop stands out even against a year that already saw tighter immigration policy throughout 2025. A decline of more than 300,000 new arrivals in a single comparison window stands out sharply. It represents one of the sharpest year-over-year shifts in recent Canadian immigration data. Officials have not published a single explanation for the size of the drop. It does follow a series of policy changes announced across both the student and worker streams over the past two years.

The work permit population is still growing

As of August 31, 2026, 1,550,215 people held a work permit in Canada. That is up 8.2% from 1,432,100 in August 2024, an increase of 118,115 people even as new worker arrivals collapsed. Timing explains the gap. IRCC processes applications under whichever rules applied when someone first submitted them. Permits approved years ago under looser policy keep adding to the total count, long after newer, tighter rules took hold.

Study permit holders moved the opposite way. Their total stock fell nearly 41%, from 1,019,545 in August 2024 to 602,115 in August 2026. That decline moved faster than the work permit population. It also lines up more closely with the sharp drop in new student arrivals.

Provincial breakdowns of the data, when IRCC eventually publishes them, are likely to show uneven effects across the country. Provinces that relied heavily on international students for local labor markets may feel the decline more acutely. That group includes parts of Ontario and British Columbia, compared with provinces that had a smaller temporary resident population to begin with.

Why the government’s own numbers lag its own policy

This gap between new arrivals and total stock is the clearest evidence yet of a slow-moving shift. Shrinking Canada’s temporary resident population will take years, not one policy switch. A work permit issued in 2023 or 2024 can still sit active in 2026. The full effect of newer, tighter rules will only show up in the stock figures once those older permits expire or go unrenewed.

IRCC’s broader data releases point to a system still working through a large volume of older applications. Recent figures on permanent residence and citizenship processing show that backlog clearly. Meanwhile, the front door for brand-new arrivals keeps narrowing fast.

Economists studying labor markets have flagged a related concern. Employers in sectors that depend heavily on temporary foreign workers may face staffing pressure. Agriculture and parts of hospitality are two examples, since new-arrival numbers are shrinking faster than employers can adjust their hiring plans. Whether that pressure shows up broadly in those industries this year is one of the open questions this data raises without yet answering.

What this means for anyone planning to come to Canada

For prospective workers and students, the 57% and 71% drops in new arrivals matter more than the headline stock figures. Those drops reflect the environment someone applying today is actually entering. The legacy population still working through the system does not. Combined with Express Entry’s recent shift toward high-wage job offers, the overall picture turns clear. Canada’s system is narrowing who gets in as a new arrival. At the same time, it keeps processing a large backlog admitted under older rules.

Prospective applicants should also note one thing. Processing times for existing applications have not necessarily sped up just because fewer new applications are arriving. A smaller inflow of new cases does not automatically clear a backlog built up from prior years of higher application volume.

A note on how to read government immigration data

Readers comparing these figures to other coverage should watch one distinction closely. A flow measures new arrivals in a given period. A stock measures the total population holding a permit on a given date. The two can move in opposite directions at the same time, exactly as they are doing here. Mixing the two up is one of the most common ways immigration statistics get misread in public debate.

How Canada’s numbers compare with past targets

The federal government set out a multi-year plan in recent years. Its goal is to shrink temporary resident numbers as a share of Canada’s total population. This data offers an early checkpoint on that plan rather than a final verdict. The sharp drop in new arrivals suggests the front-end levers, like tighter study and work permit approvals, are working as designed. Whether the back-end stock numbers follow at the pace officials originally promised remains the open question heading into next year.

What happens next with Canada’s temporary resident numbers

Expect the work permit and study permit stock figures to keep converging with the new-arrival trend over the next year or two. Permits issued under older rules will expire without being replaced at the same volume. IRCC has not announced further changes to arrival volumes. What already shows up in this data, and in the Express Entry reforms taking effect November 3, stands as the latest word for now.

For more on Canada’s shifting immigration rules, see Tamara News’ coverage of the new Express Entry high-wage points system and the Quebec worker selection program.

Saudi Arabia Sets Property Rules for Foreign Companies

Saudi Arabia’s Investor Guide 2026 adds a dedicated chapter on Saudi property ownership for foreign companies, setting out the documents a non-resident foreign company must provide. Gulf News reported the document list, which it attributes to the Okaz newspaper, with its page last updated on 6 June 2026. This is an explainer rather than breaking news, and the effective date is not stated in the report we read.

Contents

What the guide adds

According to Gulf News, the Ministry of Investment says the new chapter gives “greater clarity for foreign entities”. The rules are published on the ministry’s electronic platform, and the report does not give fees, thresholds or statistics. The specific document requirements are attributed to Okaz, not quoted directly from the guide, so read the guide on the Ministry of Investment site before you rely on any detail.

Documents foreign companies must provide

As reported, applicants must provide a commercial registration certificate issued in their home country, and articles of incorporation translated by accredited translators and authenticated through Saudi diplomatic channels. They also need documents authorising a representative to act in Saudi Arabia, and an individual representative appointed through a certified power of attorney. A company without a recognised identification document can obtain a digital identity through Saudi diplomatic missions abroad. For annual renewals, the company must confirm that ownership and management have not changed since registration with the Ministry of Investment.

Who it applies to

The report says the chapter concerns non-resident foreign companies that want to own property in Saudi Arabia without establishing or carrying on economic activity there. It does not describe the rules for a company that sets up an operating branch or subsidiary, which follow a separate licensing route.

A worked example

Consider a hypothetical case. Camila is a Brazilian founder whose holding company wants to buy an office unit in Riyadh as an investment, without hiring staff there. Based on the reported list, she would need her home-country registration certificate, authenticated and translated articles, and a power of attorney naming a representative. Each year she would then confirm that ownership and management had not changed. Whether further approvals apply to the purchase itself is not covered in the report.

What the report does not say

There is no effective date, no fee schedule, and no timeline for processing. The authentication and translation steps can take time in the home country, so allow for them early. Other Gulf markets have been moving on investor rules too, and our coverage of Kuwait’s 15-year investor residency and Oman’s free zone regulations gives context for comparing them. If you are planning a cross-border structure, see our company formation services page.

For founders, the practical lesson is to treat the document chain as a project of its own. Authentication through diplomatic channels depends on the home country, so a missing apostille-style step can delay everything else. Keep certified copies current, make sure the translator is accredited as the report requires, and confirm the power of attorney names the right individual. Gulf News also notes the guide is aimed at clarity for foreign entities, which suggests the ministry expects more such filings, but the report gives no numbers to back that up.

Saudi foreign-company questions

What is new in Saudi Arabia’s Investor Guide 2026?

A dedicated chapter on property ownership by foreign companies, according to Gulf News.

Who must follow these steps?

Non-resident foreign companies seeking to own property without setting up or carrying on economic activity in Saudi Arabia.

What documents are required?

A home-country commercial registration certificate, authenticated and translated articles, authorisation documents and a certified power of attorney for an individual representative.

Do companies need to renew?

Yes, annually, with confirmation that ownership and management have not changed.

When did the rules take effect?

The report we read does not state an effective date.

Where are the official rules?

On the Ministry of Investment’s electronic platform. Check it directly before filing.

Sources